Josh Wolff and the Wizards fell 1-0 to New England October 16.
Getty Images

MLS Re-Entry Process and draft order

NEW YORK – Major League Soccer today announced the list of players eligible for selection in the 2010 MLS Re-Entry Process. The Stage 1 Draft of the Re-Entry Process will take place on Wednesday, December 8, at 2 p.m. ET via teleconference. The Stage 2 Draft will take place on Wednesday, December 15, at 2 p.m. ET. All 18 clubs will have a representative participate.

Both Stage 1 and Stage 2 Drafts will be conducted in the same order as the traditional Waiver Draft, with Vancouver selecting 17th and Portland selecting 18th.

Each club may either select a player from the eligible player list, or pass. Once a team has passed, they may no longer participate in that stage of the Re-Entry Process. Each stage will continue until all18 clubs have passed on the available players.

Clubs must exercise the option for, or extend a Bona Fide Offer to, players selected in Stage 1. Players that were out of contract may either accept or reject the Bona Fide Offer. Should a player reject the offer, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. Players with option years left on their contract will automatically be added to the drafting club’s roster.

Any player selected in Stage 1 will remain on the drafting Club’s 2011 budget at the option price or Bona Fide Offer price until April 1, 2011. Clubs and players may not mutually renegotiate that price to a lower number until April 1, 2011.

Clubs may not select their own players in Stage 1. Players will have the opportunity to negotiate contracts and sign with their previous clubs after Stage 1 is complete through 2 p.m. ET on December 13.

In Stage 2, clubs may select from players that are under contract and those not under contract. If a player is not under contract, the drafting club will be required to make a genuine offer to the player within seven days. In the event that an agreement cannot be reached between the drafting club and an out-of-contract player, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. Clubs may select their own players in Stage 2 only after all other clubs have declined to select those players.

If a player is not selected in either stage of the Re-Entry Process, that player will be available on a first come first serve basis to all clubs.

  • CLICK HERE for Re-Entry Draft Player Eligibility Rules

The Re-Entry Draft order is the same as the Waiver Draft order and follows below:

  1. D.C. United   
  2. Chivas USA
  3. Philadelphia Union 
  4. New England Revolution
  5. Houston Dynamo       
  6. Toronto FC    
  7. Chicago Fire  
  8. Sporting Kansas City 
  9. Seattle Sounders FC  
  10. Columbus Crew
  11. New York Red Bulls 
  12. Real Salt Lake             
  13. San Jose Earthquakes            
  14. LA Galaxy    
  15. FC Dallas
  16. Colorado Rapids
  17. Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  18. Portland Timbers