CCL field taking shape for 2013-14


The 2013-14 edition of the CONCACAF Champions League is still several months away but the field is starting to take shape. Eleven of the 24 spots (six from North America and four from Central America) have already been determined.

The LA Galaxy and Houston Dynamo (both are still alive in the quarterfinals of this season's tournament) will return to the competition along with Sporting Kansas City and San Jose. Sporting KC earned a spot with the 2012 US Open Cup victory while San Jose were the MLS 2012 Supporters' Shield winners. There will likely be another MLS team in the competition with the Canadian championship to held in the upcoming spring. The other participants will be clubs from other leagues across CONCACAF.

Most countries in the CONCACAF region have split seasons which means the entire field won't be set until May 2013.

The full list of spots for each country (along with qualifiers) is below.

North America (9)
United States (4): San Jose Earthquakes, Sporting Kansas City, LA Galaxy, Houston Dynamo
Mexico (4): Toluca, Tijuana
Canada (1): 

Caribbean (3)
CFU Club Champions Cup (3): 

Central America (12)
Belize (1):
Costa Rica (2): Alajuelense
El Salvador (2): Isidro Metapan
Guatemala (2): Comunicaciones
Honduras (2): Olimpia
Nicaragua (1):
Panama (2): Arabe Unido