The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T

Sporting Legends Preki and Tony Meola, former goalkeeper Kevin Hartman named to The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T

In continued celebration of its landmark 25th season, Major League Soccer today announced The Greatest 25 presented by AT&T, a platform that honors the 25 brightest stars in the history of Major League Soccer. Among the 25 legendary players are three former members of Sporting Kansas City: midfielder Preki, goalkeepers Tony Meola and Kevin Hartman.

The 25 Greatest was determined by a special panel of more than 200 MLS experts from across North America, all of whom selected the 25 players who have achieved the most on the field, driven the narrative off the field and helped lay the foundation of MLS. The voting panel was comprised of four groups: MLS greats and emeritus, including former players, coaches and staff; current MLS club staff; media members; and local and national broadcast partners.

Preki and Meola were members of the inaugural Sporting Legends class in 2013, joining the club’s hall of honor as two of the most accomplished players in league history, while Hartman spent three seasons in Kansas City after a long stint with the LA Galaxy.

Preki starred for nine seasons in Kansas City and remains the only player to win multiple MLS MVP awards, earning the honor in 1997 before doing so again in 2003 at the age of 40. He landed eight consecutive MLS All-Star selections from 1996-2003, a four-time member of the MLS Best XI (1996, 1997, 2001, 2003) and helped Kansas City to five appearances in the MLS Cup Playoffs—including a run to the 2000 MLS Cup title.

Preki’s 112 regular season assists rank fifth all-time in MLS history and he stands as Sporting’s all-time leader in goals (71) and assists (98) in the regular season. He also made 28 appearances for the U.S. Men's National Team, including two games played at the 1998 FIFA World Cup, and was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2010.

Meola spent six seasons in Kansas City from 1999 to 2004 and captured MLS MVP, MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, MLS Best XI and MLS Cup MVP accolades during the club’s historic 2000 campaign. In leading the team to the Supporters' Shield and MLS Cup titles, Meola recorded a 681-minute shutout streak and 16 shutouts—both of which remain MLS all-time records. The five-time MLS All-Star ranks second in MLS history with 1,136 career saves.

On the international stage, Meola made 100 appearances for the U.S. Men's National Team, second most by a goalkeeper, and started for the U.S. at the 1990 and 1994 FIFA World Cups. He was voted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2012.

Hartman started every MLS match for Kansas City from 2007-2009, finishing with 100 appearances for the club in all competitions. The goalkeeper pieced together a remarkable MLS career from 1997-2013, amassing 465 league appearances and winning two MLS Cups with the LA Galaxy. The MLS All-Star also played six times for the U.S. Men’s National Team.

The 25 Greatest Presented by AT&T (Alphabetical)

  • D Jeff Agoos – D.C United, San Jose Earthquakes, New York Red Bulls
  • M Kyle Beckerman – Miami Fusion, Colorado Rapids, Real Salt Lake
  • M David Beckham – LA Galaxy
  • D Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire, Chivas USA
  • F Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes, Houston Dynamo, Toronto FC, New York Red Bulls, D.C. United
  • F Clint Dempsey – New England Revolution, Seattle Sounders FC
  • M Landon Donovan – San Jose Earthquakes, LA Galaxy
  • M Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United
  • D Robin Fraser – LA Galaxy, Colorado Rapids, Columbus Crew SC
  • F Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC
  • GK Kevin Hartman – Sporting KC, LA Galaxy, FC Dallas
  • M Cobi Jones – LA Galaxy
  • F Robbie Keane – LA Galaxy
  • D Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew SC, Seattle Sounders FC
  • F Josef Martinez – Atlanta United FC
  • GK Tony Meola – Sporting KC, New York Red Bulls
  • F Jaime Moreno – D.C. United, New York Red Bulls
  • D Eddie Pope – D.C. United, New York Red Bulls, Real Salt Lake
  • M Preki – Sporting KC, Miami Fusion
  • M Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny, New England Revolution
  • GK Nick Rimando – Miami Fusion, D.C. United, Real Salt Lake
  • M Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny, Miami Fusion, Colorado Rapids
  • M Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers
  • F Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes, Houston Dynamo
  • F Bradley Wright-Phillips – New York Red Bulls, LAFC