Sporting KC II joins eight-team Central Division as USL Championship unveils 2021 league alignment

The USL Championship announced today its league alignment for the 2021 regular season. The league will feature 31 teams across four divisions and two conferences, with all clubs set to embark on a 32-game regular season campaign that will take place over 27 weeks.

As previously announced, the USL Championship regular season will begin on or around May 1, employing a flexible start date that allows clubs to begin play anywhere between April 24 and May 15.

The four divisions are aligned across the country via the Atlantic, Central, Mountain and Pacific Divisions. The Atlantic and Central Division will make up the Eastern Conference, while the Mountain and Pacific Divisions will make up the Western Conference.

Sporting Kansas City II is one of eight clubs in the Central Division, joining Atlanta United 2, Birmingham Legion FC, FC Tulsa, Indy Eleven, Louisville City FC, Memphis 901 FC and OKC Energy FC.

During the regular season, Sporting KC II will play each team in the Central Division four times—twice at home and twice on the road. The remaining four matches will be played against regional or cross-conference opponents.

Supporters can stay tuned in the coming weeks for competition-related announcements on home openers for the 2021 USL Championship season, the 2021 ESPN national broadcast schedule, and the full 2021 regular season schedule.