In a monumental new chapter for North American soccer, all 47 MLS and LIGA MX will pause their respective league seasons each summer, and all 47 first-division clubs in Canada, Mexico, and the United States will compete in the World Cup-style tournament sanctioned by Concacaf.


Sporting Kansas City will compete in Group Four of the West Region along with 10-time LIGA MX champions Deportivo Toluca FC and fellow MLS foe Chicago Fire FC as the month-long tournament unfolds from July 26 to August 25 to crown a winner and qualify the top three finishers for the 2025 Concacaf Champions Cup.

Leagues Cup 2024 will consist of 77 matches played across the United States and Canada with the official schedule -- including match dates, host venues, and ticket information -- for the World Cup-style tournament to be announced at a later date.

The Format:

In 2024, the tournament introduces a tiered Leagues Cup Ranking system based on combined MLS and LIGA MX club performance using points in the last 34 regular season matches. MLS teams are ranked based on the 2023 MLS Supporters’ Shield standings, while LIGA MX clubs are ranked based on the cumulative 34 matches in the 2023 Clausura and Apertura tournaments.

Leagues Cup 2024 Rankings:
Group Four in West Region

  • No. 9 Deportivo Toluca FC (LIGA MX)
  • No. 22 Sporting Kansas City (MLS)
  • No. 34 Chicago Fire FC (MLS)

Teams will play two matches in the Group Stage with the top two teams from each group, as determined by points, advancing to the Round of 32 in the Knockout Stage. Regulation wins will earn three points and each team will receive one point if the game is tied after 90 minutes, however no matches in the Group Stage will end in a tie. If a game is tied after 90 minutes, the game will proceed to a penalty shootout and the winner of the shootout will earn an additional point.