Eligible candidates for 2021 National Soccer Hall of Fame election include 13 former Sporting KC players

Chris Klein - National Soccer Hall of Fame

The National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium announced today the names of all candidates eligible for election in 2021, including 13 former members of Sporting Kansas City.

The Hall of Fame’s new Selection Committee will begin deliberations this week to select a three- or four-member Class of 2021 from the 245 candidates who appear on the Player, Veteran and Builder ballots.

The 2021 Hall of Fame ceremony is scheduled for May 22 and will enshrine both the 2020 class (Carlos Bocanegra and Colin Jose Media Award Winner Andrés Cantor) and the 2021 class.

Player Ballot

The 2021 Player Ballot features Brad Davis, Eddie Johnson and Josh Wolff. Davis spent most of his heralded MLS career with the Houston Dynamo, winning two MLS Cup titles, before ending his professional journey with Sporting in 2016. Johnson bagged 17 goals in 43 regular season appearances for Kansas City from 2006-2007 before transferring to English Premier League side Fulham. Wolff, who was inducted into the Sporting Legends hall of honor in 2019, amassed 46 goals across two separate stints in Kansas City from 2003-2006 and 2008-2010.

Veteran Ballot

The expansive 2021 Veteran Ballot lists 10 former players who enjoyed MLS stints in Kansas City, including first-year nominees Sean Bowers and Chris Klein. Bowers was a regular starter for the Wizards from 1996-1999, while Klein was inducted as a Sporting Legend after starring for the club with 43 goals and 54 assists in all competitions from 1998-2005.

Other former Sporting players on the ballot are Jose Burciaga Jr. (2001-2008), Mike Burns (2001-2002), Mark Chung (1996-1998), 2000 MLS Cup champion Chris Henderson (1999-2000), Frank Klopas (1996-1997), Roy Lassiter (2001-2002), Mike Sorber (1996) and current assistant Kerry Zavagnin, who has helped the club win seven major titles as a player or a coach.

A full list of candidates can be found on the National Soccer Hall of Fame's website. More information about the election and eligibility procedures is also available at NationalSoccerHoF.com.

Former Sporting players eligible for 2021 National Soccer Hall of Fame

  • Brad Davis – Player Ballot
  • Eddie Johnson – Player Ballot
  • Josh Wolff – Player Ballot
  • Sean Bowers – Veteran Ballot
  • Jose Burciaga Jr – Veteran Ballot
  • Mike Burns – Veteran Ballot
  • Mark Chung – Veteran Ballot
  • Chris Henderson – Veteran Ballot
  • Chris Klein – Veteran Ballot
  • Frank Klopas – Veteran Ballot
  • Roy Lassiter – Veteran Ballot
  • Mike Sorber – Veteran Ballot
  • Kerry Zavagnin – Veteran Ballot