Canadian National Team

Kansas City to host three U.S. Men’s National Team matches in 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup

Children’s Mercy Park will host five Group Stage matches in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup from July 11-18, including all three of the United States Men’s National Team matches in Group B, Concacaf announced on Thursday with the release of the full 2021 Gold Cup schedule.

“We are extremely pleased to confirm the schedule and venues for this summer’s Concacaf Gold Cup, which promises to be a celebration of football in our great region,” said Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President Victor Montagliani. “This is Concacaf’s 60th anniversary year and we look forward with great anticipation to watching the best men’s national teams in our confederation compete for the Gold Cup title. With an exciting new format and the prospect of welcoming passionate fans to the stadiums for these compelling matchups, I can’t wait for the football to begin.”

2021 Concacaf Gold Cup at Children’s Mercy Park
     All times CT, schedule subject to change

     Sunday, July 11
     5:30pm Canada vs Martinique
     7:30pm United States vs TBD* (Winner Prelims 7)

     Thursday, July 15
     6:30pm Canada vs TBD* (Winner Prelims 7)
     8:30pm United States vs Martinique

    Sunday, July 18
    4:00pm United States vs Canada

     *TBD by 2021 Gold Cup Prelims from July 2-6

Tickets for all Group Stage matches will go on sale to the general public on May 20 at 10 a.m. local time via Sporting Kansas City Season Ticket Members will have access to an exclusive Gold Cup pre-sale starting May 18 through SeatGeek.

The Gold Cup is the region’s flagship international tournament, featuring men’s national teams from across North America, Central America and the Caribbean. First contested in 1991 and taking place every two years, the Gold Cup crowns the confederation’s champion and the 16th edition will be played from July 2-Aug. 1 in eight U.S. markets.

The Gold Cup returns to Kansas City – a Candidate Host City for the 2026 FIFA World Cup - for a fourth time (2011, 2015, 2019, 2021) since Children’s Mercy Park opened in 2011. After serving as the site of individual doubleheaders in the three previous occasions, Kansas City will host four national teams for more than a week this summer as part of a hub-city format designed to reduce travel.

Concacaf Gold Cup History in KC
     2011: USA vs Guadeloupe; Canada vs Panama
     2015: USA vs Panama; Honduras vs Haiti
     2019: USA vs Panama; Guyana vs Trinidad & Tobago
     2021: USA, Canada, Martinique & TBD (5 games)

The arrival of the United States Men’s National Team in Kansas City will mark the first time the U.S. MNT has played three times in one stadium in a single week since 2003. The U.S. Men’s National Team is 7-0-1 all-time in Kansas City and, with the upcoming fixtures, Children’s Mercy Park will have hosted nine U.S. Men’s National Team matches – the most of any venue in the past decade.

U.S. Men's National Team History in Kansas City
     Nov. 2, 1968: 6-2 W vs Bermuda (Municipal Stadium)
     April 25, 2001: 1-0 W vs Costa Rica (Arrowhead Stadium)
     June 14, 2011: 1-0 W vs Guadeloupe (Children's Mercy Park)
     Oct. 16, 2012: 3-1 W vs Guatemala (Children's Mercy Park)
     Oct. 11, 2013: 2-0 W vs Jamaica (Children's Mercy Park)
     July 13, 2015: 1-1 T vs Panama (Children's Mercy Park) 
     May 28, 2016: 4-0 W vs Bolivia (Children's Mercy Park)
     June 26, 2019: 1-0 W vs Panama (Children's Mercy Park)
     July 11, 2021: USA vs TBD (Children’s Mercy Park)
     July 15, 2021: USA vs Martinique (Children’s Mercy Park)
     July 18, 2021: USA vs Canada (Children’s Mercy Park)

Currently ranked No. 20 globally in the FIFA rankings, the United States are six-time Gold Cup champions. The blossoming U.S. player pool boasts Americans at many of the top teams in Europe’s most prestigious leagues, including Christian Pulisic (Chelsea), Sergino Dest (Barcelona), Weston McKennie (Juventus), Giovanni Reyna (Dortmund), Tyler Adams (Leipzig), John Brooks (Wolfsburg), Timothy Weah (Lille) and Zack Steffen (Manchester City). Canada, who last won the Gold Cup in 2000, also have a talented cast of players at European clubs, including the likes of Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Jonathan David (Lille) and Cyle Larin (Besiktas).

The 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup will officially kick off with a new Preliminary Round held from July 2-6 at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., with 12 nations competing for the final three berths in the Group Stage.

The Group Stage will begin July 10 with 16 teams, including Asian champion Qatar as a guest participant. For the first time, all of the final Group Stage matches will be played concurrently and the top two finishers in each group which will advance to the knockout stage’s single-elimination bracket on the road to the Gold Cup Final on Aug. 1.

Gold Cup matches will be widely available for fans across the region through the Confederation’s partner broadcast networks, including Fox Sports (English TV), Univision (Spanish TV) and Futbol de Primera (Spanish Radio) in the United States.