MLS announces nominees for annual awards including Comeback Player of the Year frontrunner Alan Pulido


Major League Soccer unveiled the list of individuals eligible for selection in 2023 Year-End Awards on Thursday with voting set to take place from Oct. 10-23.

The winner in each category will be determined following a vote by journalists, club technical staffs and MLS players, with each group accounting for 33.3% of the total vote.

In addition, AT&T MLS Goal of the Year and MLS Save of the Year presented by Allstate will be determined by an online fan vote on MLSsoccer.com. Fan voting will open on Oct. 30 and close on Nov. 6.

Sporting KC Nominees for 2023 MLS Year-End Awards

  • Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player: Alan Pulido and Erik Thommy
  • Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year: Tim Melia
  • MLS Defender of the Year: Logan Ndenbe and Dany Rosero
  • MLS Comeback Player of the Year: Alan Pulido
  • MLS Newcomer of the Year: Nemanja Radoja and Dany Rosero
  • MLS Young Player of the Year: Jake Davis
  • Audi Goals Drive Progress Impact Award presented by MLS WORKS: Graham Zusi
  • Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year: Peter Vermes