Sporting Kansas City named MLS Communications Club of the Year


Sporting Kansas City was named MLS Communications Club of the Year on Monday as Major League Soccer announced the winners of the 2023 Mark Abbott Club and Executive Awards

"The annual Mark Abbott MLS Club Awards serve to highlight club business achievements by recognizing departments, programs and individuals excelling in their respective areas," said MLS Executive Vice President and Chief Club Performance Officer Chris McGowan. "We aim to acknowledge accomplishments that are driving our business, innovating, exhibiting leadership and collaboration, and delivering value to our fans and communities."

The award recipients will be recognized in this week's issue of Sports Business Journal and will receive a custom trophy from Tiffany & Co. to commemorate the achievement.

Voted on by approximately 120 media members and national rights holders, the Communications Club of the Year award identifies the team that created and implemented earned-media strategies to increase the relevance and enhance the brand reputation of their club, while providing first-class service to internal and external constituents.

Sporting Kansas City has earned Communications Club of the Year honors a league-leading five times (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2023). In addition, Jim Moorhouse (1996) and Rob Thomson (2000) were each named Major League Soccer's Public Relations Executive of the Year as members of the club.

2023 MLS Communications Club of the Year
First Year with SKC
Rob Thomson
Chief Communications Officer
Kurt Austin
Senior Director of Communications
Sam Kovzan
Project Management Specialist
Patrik Bergabo
Press Officer
Jared Belzer
Communications Coordinator