Jaylin Lindsey GA Cup

Sporting Kansas City Academy defender Jaylin Lindsey has been called in to the U.S. Under-17 National Team for the 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Championship. The tournament is held in Panama and will run from April 21 through May 7.

Lindsey is one of 20 players named on the roster for the tournament, which acts as the qualifier for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup, which will be played from Oct. 6-28 in India. The U.S. has been drawn into Group C and will face Jamaica (April 23), Mexico (April 26) and El Salvador (April 29). All three of the USA’s matches will be streamed live on the CONCACAF Facebook page.

Lindsey, 17, has been a member of the U.S. U-17 Residency Program since last August and has made over 15 appearances for the age group, recording three assists from the backline. He has previously represented the U.S. Youth National Team at the Under-15 and Under-15 levels.

The Charlotte, N.C. native signed an Academy contract with the Swope Park Rangers on May 6, 2016, making his professional debut against Saint Louis FC a day later. He later drew his first professional start in a match against Real Monarchs SLC on Aug. 13, 2016.

U.S. U-17 Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica; Philadelphia, Pa.), Justin Garces (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (5): Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake AZ; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Zyen Jones (Atlanta United FC; Clarkston, Ga.), Bryan Reynolds, Jr. (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.)