Sporting KC launches fan voting for 2019 Sporting Legends inductee

2019 Sporting Legends DL image

Sporting Kansas City has opened fan voting for the 2019 Sporting Legends inductee, giving supporters the opportunity to submit their write-in selection below.

Online voting kicks off today and will continue through June 23 at 11:59 p.m. CT. The 2019 inductee will be selected via fan vote and will be recognized as the newest Sporting Legend before a Sporting Kansas City match at Children's Mercy Park later this year.

Retired players and active or retired coaches are eligible for selection. Click here to view Sporting's all-time player stats.

The Sporting Legends hall of honor, established in 2013, pays tribute to club icons and provides a platform for inductees to reconnect with the Kansas City soccer community on an annual basis. Nine individuals have been named Sporting Legends for their invaluable contributions to the Sporting Kansas City organization and to the growth of soccer throughout the region.

Like the previous nine members of Sporting Legends, this year’s inductee will have his name adorned outside The Victory Suite in the northwest corner of Children’s Mercy Park. A new UMB Sporting Legends Pylon will also be erected inside the UMB Premium Entry on the northwest side of the stadium, showcasing a commemorative artifact donated by the 2019 inductee.

UMB Sporting Legends Pylons

<strong>Sporting Legend</strong>
Bob Gansler
The coaching polo he wore in the 2000 MLS Cup
Tony Meola
A game-worn pair of goalkeeper gloves
An autographed pair of game-worn cleats
Jimmy Conrad
Cleats and an autographed ball he used in the 2006 FIFA World Cup
Lamar Hunt
A photo of Hunt during 2004 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup postgame celebrations
Peter Vermes
The U.S. Men's National Team jersey he wore in the 1989 match against Trinidad and Tobago that qualified the U.S. for the 1990 World Cup
Chris Klein
His game-worn jersey from the 2000 MLS Cup
Kerry Zavagnin
The five cup medals he has won in Kansas City as a player or coach (2000 and 2013 MLS Cup; 2004, 2012 and 2015 U.S. Open Cup)
Mo Johnston
His 2000 MLS Cup championship ring