Sporting KC launches fan voting for 2024 Sporting Legends inductee


Sporting Kansas City has opened fan voting for the 2024 Sporting Legends inductee, giving supporters the opportunity to submit their write-in selection by clicking here.

Online voting begins today and will continue through Sunday, March 10. The 2024 inductee will be recognized as the newest Sporting Legend before a Sporting Kansas City home match at Children's Mercy Park later this year. Former players three years removed from retirement and all active or retired coaches are eligible for selection.

Established in 2013, the Sporting Legends hall of honor pays tribute to club icons and provides a platform for inductees to reconnect with the Kansas City soccer community. Twelve individuals have been named Sporting Legends for their invaluable contributions to the Sporting Kansas City organization and to the growth of soccer throughout the region.

  • 2013: Preki, Tony Meola, Bob Gansler
  • 2014: Peter Vermes, Jimmy Conrad, Lamar Hunt
  • 2015: Chris Klein
  • 2016: Kerry Zavagnin
  • 2017: Mo Johnston
  • 2019: Josh Wolff
  • 2021: Jimmy Nielsen
  • 2022: Davy Arnaud

Like the previous 12 members of Sporting Legends, this year’s inductee will have their name adorned outside The Victory Suite in the northwest corner of Children’s Mercy Park. A new UMB Sporting Legends Pylon will also be unveiled at the stadium, showcasing commemorative artifacts donated by the 2024 inductee.