Expansion Draft

WATCH: 2017 MLS Expansion Draft LIVE at 1 pm CT

The 2017 MLS Expansion Draft will take place today at 1 p.m. CT as Los Angeles FC selects five players ahead of the club's inaugural season in Major League Soccer. MLSsoccer.com's Matthew Doyle, Andrew Wiebe and special guest Ali Curtis – the former sporting director of the New York Red Bulls – will be in studio for analysis of all five picks.

Sporting Kansas City has protected 11 players from being selected, while an additional four are automatically protected due to their homegrown status.

  • GK: Tim Melia
  • DEF: Matt Besler, Ike Opara, Graham Zusi, Kevin Ellis (HG), Erik Palmer-Brown (HG)
  • MID: Roger Espinoza, Benny Feilhaber, Ilie, Cristian Lobato, Jimmy Medranda, James Musa
  • FWD: Gerso, Gianluca Busio (HG), Daniel Salloi (HG)

Per Expansion Draft rules, LAFC can only select a single player from any one club. The following Sporting KC players will be eligible for selection:

  • GK: Andrew Dykstra, Alexander Tambakis, Adrian Zendejas
  • DEF: Saad Abdul-Salaam, Amer Didic, Seth Sinovic, Colton Storm
  • MID: Soni Mustivar
  • FWD: Kharlton Belmar, Latif Blessing, Cameron Iwasa, Kenwyne Jones, Cameron Porter, Diego Rubio, Soony Saad

Click here for the protected and unprotected lists of all 22 MLS clubs.