Sporting KC vs. FC Dallas - May 29, 2015
USA Today Sports Images

Sporting KC to play FC Dallas on July 1 in Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Round of 16

Sporting Kansas City will face FC Dallas at 7:30 p.m. CT on July 1 at Sporting Park in the 2015 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Round of 16, U.S. Soccer announced on Thursday.

Tickets for the match are included in Sporting Kansas City Season Ticket Member packages as Special Game A. Single-game tickets will go on sale to the general public at 10 a.m. CT tomorrow (Friday, June 19) via

Sporting Kansas City advanced to the Round of 16 with a 1-0 victory over St. Louis FC (USL) on Tuesday in front of a standing-room only crowd at Sporting Park. The club, which has twice lifted the Dewar Challenge Trophy as champions of the competition in 2004 and 2012, will continue the U.S. Open Cup campaign in two weeks time versus a Western Conference rival.

FC Dallas advanced with a 4-1 win over OKC Energy FC (USL) on Tuesday at Garvey-Rosenthal Soccer Stadium on the campus of Texas Christian University. Sporting Kansas City has played FC Dallas on only one occasion in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, a 4-0 victory in the 2004 quarterfinals en route to the team’s first U.S. Open Cup championship.

The winner between Sporting Kansas City and FC Dallas will earn a berth in the tournament quarterfinals and will meet the victor from the Houston Dynamo-Colorado Rapids match-up. If Sporting Kansas City advances, the quarterfinal round would be played at Sporting Park on July 21/22.

2015 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup

  • Round of 16 June 30-July 1
  • Quarterfinals July 21-22
  • Semifinals August 11-12
  • Final Sept. 29 or 30

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup has been held annually since 1914 and is open to all amateur/professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The 2015 edition is headlined by the largest field in the modern era (1995-present) with 89 teams in contention when the first round began.

This year’s winner will earn a $250,000 grand prize and will qualify for the 2016-17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League.