Didic vs. Sac Republic
Douglas Taylor

Amer Didic named to the 2016 USL All-League First Team

Swope Park Rangers center back Amer Didic has been selected to the 2016 USL All-League First Team. The All-League Team was voted on by team management and a league-wide media panel that included representation from every USL market.

“I’m very thankful to be selected for this honor,” Didic said. “There is no way I’d be able to accomplish this without the guys I play with, day in and day out. I’m lucky to be part of a quality team and hopefully we’re able to lift the USL Cup on Sunday.”

Didic has made 31 appearances for the Rangers in 2016, scoring one goal in the team’s regular-season finale against Seattle Sounders FC 2 on Sept. 24. The Edmonton, Alberta native was named to the USL Team of the Week a league-high six times throughout the season and has played every minute of the Rangers’ postseason run to the USL Cup Final.

The 21-year-old rookie was the first SPR player to be called up to play for Sporting Kansas City, making his debut in the CONCACAF Champions League matchup against Central FC on Aug. 16 and has played every minute of Sporting KC’s CCL campaign since.

Didic and the Rangers travel to face New York Red Bulls II in the 2016 USL Cup Final this Sunday, Oct. 23. Kickoff at Red Bull Arena is set for 7 p.m. CT and the game will be broadcast on ESPNU and the WatchESPN app, while SiriusXM FC will have the call on the radio.

2016 USL All-League First Team
GK – Mitch Hildebrandt, FC Cincinnati
D – Harrison Delbridge, FC Cincinnati
D – Amer Didic, Swope Park Rangers
D – Aaron Long, New York Red Bulls II
D – Hugh Roberts, Richmond Kickers
M – Danny Barrera, Sacramento Republic FC
M – Villyan Bijev, Portland Timbers 2
M – Enzo Martinez, Charlotte Independence
F – Brandon Allen, New York Red Bulls II
F – Jack McBean, LA Galaxy II
F – Sean Okoli, FC Cincinnati

2016 USL All-League Second Team
GK – Devala Gorrick, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
D – Zach Carroll, New York Red Bulls II
D – Joe Farrell, Rochester Rhinos
D – Bruno Perone, Wilmington Hammerheads FC
D – Josh Suggs, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
M – Jose Barril, Harrisburg City Islanders
M – Kenardo Forbes, Rochester Rhinos
M – Yudai Imura, Richmond Kickers
F – Irvin Herrera, Saint Louis FC
F – Corey Hertzog, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
F – Cameron Iwasa, Sacramento Republic FC