NCAA Soccer Championships - Nov. 8, 2016

Brackets set for NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Soccer Championships

The tournament brackets were unveiled Monday for the 2016 NCAA Division II Men’s and Women’s Soccer Championships, which will culminate Dec. 1 and 3 at Children’s Mercy Victory Field at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City, Missouri.

The 38-team men’s field includes four schools from either Kansas or Missouri, while the 48-team women’s field boasts five from either state. The semifinals and finals of both tournaments will be held at state-of-the-art Swope Soccer Village, hosted by the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association and the Kansas City Sports Commission.

Men’s tournament format and schedule

The 38-team men’s bracket consists of eight separate regions, each with two to six teams. First- and second-round matchups will be played Thursday through Sunday, setting the stage for third-round and quarterfinal contests which will be completed by Sunday, Nov. 20. All games leading up to the final four will be held at on-campus sites.

  • First and Second Rounds: Nov. 10-13
  • Third and Fourth Rounds: Nov. 16-20
  • Semifinals: Thursday, Dec. 1 at Swope Soccer Village
  • Final: Saturday, Dec. 3 at Swope Soccer Village

Women’s tournament format and schedule

The 48-team women’s bracket is divided into eight regions of six, with the first two rounds taking place Thursday through Sunday. Sixteen schools receive a first-round bye, while the remaining 32 go head-to-head in the opening round. Third-round and quarterfinal action will unfold from Nov. 18-20 at on-campus sites.

  • First and Second Rounds: Nov. 10-13
  • Their and Fourth Rounds: Nov. 18-20
  • Semifinals: Thursday, Dec. 1 at Swope Soccer Village
  • Final: Saturday, Dec. 3 at Swope Soccer Village

From Kansas and Missouri

The men’s field is highlighted by the Midwest region’s No. 1 seed Rockhurst University. The Hawks (16-2-2) advanced to the final four last season and will look to go a step further this time around on KC soil. Drury College (Mo.) is the sixth seed the Midwest region, while Fort Hays State (Kan.) and Lindenwood (Mo.) will meet in the Central regional final on Nov. 18. Fort Hays State fell to Rockhurst via penalty shootout in the 2015 quarterfinals.

The women’s field includes the Central region’s No. 1 seed Central Missouri and the Midwest region’s No. 2 seed Truman State (Mo.). Both schools have just one loss to their name this season. Third-seeded Fort Hays State will compete in the Central region, while Rockhurst and Missouri-St. Louis will meet Friday in the Midwest region’s first round.

The favorites

The Grand Valley State (Mich.) women’s team enters the tournament as three-time defending national champion. The Lakers (19-1-1) are the top-seeded school in the Midwest region and will face the winner of Rockhurst and Missouri-St. Louis on Sunday.

In 2015, the Pfeiffer University (N.C.) men’s team became the first undefeated Division II soccer champion in 16 years. The Falcons (18-2) will look to defend their title from other one-seeds, including Rockhurst, LIU Post (N.Y.), Charleston (W. Va.), Wingate (N.C.), Lynn (Fl.) St. Edwards (Texas) and Simon Fraser of British Columbia, Canada.

A championship town

2016 marks the first of two straight years in which the NCAA Division II men’s and women’s soccer championships will unfold at Swope Soccer Village. Kansas City has hosted NCAA soccer championships every year since 2014 (Division I in 2015; Division II in 2016 and 2017; and Division III in 2014 and 2015). For more information, visit