Baylor soccer team - Big 12 Championship

Golden goal gives Baylor Big 12 Soccer Championship at Swope Soccer Village

The Baylor Bears were crowned 2017 Big 12 Soccer Champions after knocking off TCU 2-1 in overtime on Sunday at Swope Soccer Village. As tournament winners, the Bears will receive an automatic bid the 2017 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

No. 5-seed Baylor defeated the three top-ranked teams in the Big 12 en route to the title, toppling No. 4 Texas, top-seeded Oklahoma State and No. 3 TCU to claim the program's second Big 12 Soccer Championship.

Sunday's title game remained scoreless until the 69th minute when Kennedy Brown fired Baylor into the lead. TCU's Ryan Williams equalized shortly thereafter to force golden-goal extra time, and Lauren Piercy's game-winner queued celebrations at the Children's Mercy Victory Field. Baylor's Aline de Lima was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Offensive Player after assisting both goals in the final.

Played before a national television audience on FS1, Sunday's match marked the fifth straight year the Big 12 soccer champion was crowned at Swope Soccer Village.