2018 MLS Player Combine

Initial list of 2018 adidas MLS Player Combine invitees announced

Major League Soccer today announced the initial 60 NCAA DI college players invited to participate in the 2018 adidas MLS Player Combine. Top collegiate players from across the country will showcase their talents in front of representatives from all 23 MLS clubs in Orlando, FL from Jan. 11-17, 2018. All invited players will be eligible for selection in the 2018 SuperDraft presented by adidas which will take place on Friday, Jan. 19 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention.

A committee of MLS coaches and NCAA Division I coaches from every conference selected the invitees, all of whom completed their college eligibility this season. Further invitees including Generation adidas signings, non-collegiate players, and additional college seniors will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Seven semifinalists for the 2017 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy headline this year’s list of initial invitees.

Wake Forest University forward Jon Bakero, who has totaled 10 game-winning goals in his career, is a third-team All-ACC honoree (2015), ACC All-Tournament Team honoree (2016) and NCAA College Cup All-Tournament Team honoree (2016). Bakero joins Stanford University defender Tomas Hilliard-Arce as a MAC Hermann trophy finalist. Hilliard-Arce was named the Pac-12 Defender of the Year after clinching a third straight NCAA national championship. Leading Western Michigan was midfielder Brandon Bye, who was named the MAC Player of the Year with the help of 12 goals and five assists in just 17 games. Jon Gallagher of Notre Dame University makes the MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists list just one year after being named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year with 14 goals and seven assists, while Louisville University defender Tim Kubel is a MAC Hermann trophy semifinalist for the second straight year. Dartmouth College defender Wyatt Omsberg was included in the 2017 College Soccer News and Top Drawer Soccer Preseason All-America lists. Omsberg was also named the 2016 Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year. Rounding out the group is UNC Chapel Hill forward Alan Winn, who led the Tar Heels to the NCAA Men’s College Cup with 11 goals, second in the ACC along with .69 goals per game.

A mix of collegiate soccer head coaches and MLS Academy personnel will make up the Combine coaching staff.  University of Wisconsin-Madison head coach John Trask, Indiana University head coach Todd Yeagley, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee head coach Kris Kelderman and East Tennessee State head coach Bo Oshoniyi will serve as the head coaches for the four Combine teams. The assistant coaches will be FC Dallas Academy Director Luchi Gonzalez, NYCFC Academy Director Rodrigo Marion, New England Revolution Director of Youth Development Bryan Scales and Solar Soccer Club Head of Soccer Operations, Executive Director of Coaching Elite Programs and Technical Director Adrian Solca.

2018 MLS Combine Invitees 

Alphabetical by last name

Player School Position Hometown/Citizenship
Marcelo Acuna Virginia Tech F San Jose, Costa Rica; Costa Rica
Pablo Aguilar Virginia M Guatemala City, Guatemala; Guatemala/USA
Rafael Andrade Santos VCU M/F Rio de Janiero, Brazil; Brazil
Will Bagrou Mercer F Dacula, GA; USA
Jon Bakero Wake Forest F Sitges, Spain; Spain
Pau Belana Akron M Barcelona, Spain; Spain
Tristan Blackmon Pacific D Las Vegas, NV; USA
Arthur Bosua Columbia F Johannesburg, South Africa; South Africa
Cory Brown Xavier D Nelson, New Zealand; New Zealand
Brandon Bye Western Michigan D/F Portage, MI; USA
Jeff Caldwell Virginia GK Todd, NC; USA
Pol Calvet Planellas Pittsburgh D Barcelona, Spain; Spain
George Campbell Maryland D Baltimore, MD; USA
Paul Christensen Portland GK Woodinville, WA; USA
Harry Cooksley St. John's M/F London, England; UK
Manuel Cordeiro Akron M Porto, Portugal; Portugal
Niko DeVera Akron D Camas, WA; USA
Eric Dick Butler GK Carmel, IN; USA
Justin Fiddes Washington D San Diego, CA; USA
Markus Fjortoft Duke D Asker, Norway; Norway
Sam Gainford Akron F

Liverpool, England; UK

Jon Gallagher Notre Dame F Dundalk, Ireland; Ireland
Giovanni Godoy UC Irvine F Watsonville, CA; USA
Mamadou Guirassy NJIT F Paris, France; France/USA
Tomas Hilliard-Arce Stanford D Matthews, NC; USA
Brian Iloski UCLA M Escondido, CA; USA
Jordan Jones Oregon State F Pacific Grove, CA; USA
Ken Krolicki Michigan State M Plymouth, MI; USA/Japan
Tim Kubel Louisville D/M Stuttgart, Germany; Germany
Chris Lema Georgetown M Ridgefield, NJ; USA
Ricky Lopez-Espin Creighton F Miami, FL; USA
Ben Lundgaard Virginia Tech GK Greenville, DE; USA
Carter Manley Duke D Elkridge, MD; USA
Paul Marie FIU D Saint-Aubin-des-Bois, France; France/USA
Andre Morrison Hartford D Clarendon, Jamaica; Jamaica
Chris Mueller Wisconsin F Schaumburg, IL; USA
Danny Musovski UNLV F Henderson, NV; USA
Michael Nelson SMU GK Katy, TX; USA
Wyatt Omsberg Dartmouth D Scarborough, ME; USA
AJ Paterson Wright State M Key Largo, FL; USA
Frantzdy Pierrot Coastal Carolina F Boston, MA; USA
Afonso Pinheiro Albany F Sao Paulo, Brazil; Brazil
Matias Pyysalo UCF M/F Helsinki, Finland; Finland
Alex Roldan Seattle M Pico Rivera, CA; USA/El Salvador
Jake Rozhansky Maryland M Germantown, MD; USA
Albert Ruiz FGCU F Barcelona, Spain; Spain
Rafael Sanchez Saint Mary's D/M Selah, WA; USA
Leon Schwarzer San Francisco M Munster, Germany; Germany
Mark Segbers Wisconsin D/F St. Louis, MO; USA
Oliver Shannon Clemson M Liverpool, England; UK
Nate Shultz Akron D Mayfield, OH; USA
Drew Skundrich Stanford M Lancaster, PA; USA
Graham Smith Denver M Highlands Ranch, CO; USA
Lucas Stauffer Creighton D Owensboro, KY; USA
Mac Steeves Providence F Needham, MA; USA
Mohamed Thiaw Louisville F Lexington, KY; USA
Brian White Duke M/F Flemington, NJ; USA
Ben White Gonzaga D Tigard, OR; USA
Alan Winn UNC F Garland, TX; USA
Jason Wright Clemson F Kingston, Jamaica; Jamaica