Preview: Graham Zusi and MLS All-Stars set to face Atletico Madrid on Wednesday

2019 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target
MLS All-Stars vs. Atletico Madrid
Explorida Stadium | Orlando, Florida
Wednesday, July 31 | 7 p.m. CT | FOX, UniMas

Sporting Kansas City defender Graham Zusi has returned to his hometown of Orlando for the 2019 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target on Wednesday at Exploria Stadium. The MLS All-Stars will face 10-time Spanish champions Atletico Madrid in the annual summer showcase, slated to kick off at 7 p.m. CT with live coverage on FS1 and UniMas.

Zusi is no stranger to the All-Star Game, having competed in the fixture from 2012-2015 and in each of the previous two seasons. The right back's seven All-Star selections are tied with Preki for the most in Kansas City history.

The 32-year-old Zusi, who ranks second on the club's all-time charts in appearances and assists, has 22 matches under his belt this season, including five during Sporting's historic run to the Concacaf Champions League Semifinals. Now in his 11th MLS season, he was selected to the All-Star Game as a 2019 MLS All-Star Fan XI honoree.

The All-Star roster features rising talents, dynamic competitors and highly accomplished superstars, including 12 previous MLS All-Stars and 14 debutants. At the forefront, a dynamic attacking corps boasts the likes of LA Galaxy's Zlatan Ibrahimovic, LAFC's Carlos Vela, D.C. United's Wayne Rooney, Atlanta United's Josef Martinez and all-time MLS leading goal scorer Chris Wondolowski. Internationally, 14 countries are represented by the roster, the second most in MLS All-Star history, with Zusi among the 11 World Cup veterans. Orlando City SC manager James O'Connor will serve as the squad's head coach.

This impressive collection of MLS stars will face Atletico Madrid, whose ten La Liga championships rank among the top three in Spain. The iconic club has won 30 trophies across all competitions, including Europa League in 2018, and finished second in La Liga in 2019.

Atletico will be five days removed from a shocking 7-3 preseason win over archrivals Real Madrid at MetLife Stadium near New York City. Spanish striker Diego Costa bagged four goals in the victory, while newly acquired Portuguese wunderkind Joao Felix delivered a scintillating performance of his own. At just 19 years old, Felix joined Atletico this summer in a $140 million move from Benfica, good for the fourth most expensive transfer all-time.

2019 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS: Andre Blake* (Philadelphia Union), Brad Guzan^ (Atlanta United)Nick Rimando# (Real Salt Lake) 

DEFENDERS: Matt Hedges* (FC Dallas), Kemar Lawrence* (New York Red Bulls), Romain Métanire* (Minnesota United FC), Leandro González Pírez^ (Atlanta United), Bastian Schweinsteiger* (Chicago Fire), Walker Zimmerman^ (Los Angeles Football Club), Graham Zusi^ (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Ezequiel Barco^ (Atlanta United), Diego Chara* (Portland Timbers), Jonathan dos Santos^ (LA Galaxy), Mark-Anthony Kaye* (Los Angeles Football Club), Nicolás Lodeiro* (Seattle Sounders FC), Gonzalo “Pity” Martínez^(Atlanta United), Maxi Moralez* (NYCFC), Nani^ (Orlando City SC), Paxton Pomykal# (FC Dallas), Alejandro Pozuelo*(Toronto FC), Diego Rossi* (Los Angeles Football Club) 

FORWARDS: Zlatan Ibrahimović^ (LA Galaxy – EA SPORTS™ “More Than a Vote” Challenge), Josef Martínez* (Atlanta United), Wayne Rooney^ (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski* (San Jose Earthquakes), Carlos Vela^ (Los Angeles Football Club)

^ Fan XI selection
* James O’Connor selection
# Commissioner Don Garber selection

Sporting KC MLS All-Star History

Year All-Stars
1996 Preki
Mo Johnston
Vitalis Takawira
1997 Preki (2)
Mo Johnston (2)
Vitalis Takawira (2)
Mark Chung
Richard Gough
1998 Preki (3)
Mo Johnston (3)
Uche Okafor
1999 Preki (4)
Alexi Lalas
2000 Preki (5)
Chris Henderson
Matt McKeon
Tony Meola
Peter Vermes
2001 Matt McKeon
2002 Preki (6)
Tony Meola (2)
Mike Burns
Chris Klein
2003 Preki (7)
Chris Klein (2)
2004 Chris Klein (3)
Jimmy Conrad
Josh Wolff
Kerry Zavagnin
2005 Chris Klein (4)
Jimmy Conrad (2)
2006 Jimmy Conrad (3)
Jose Burciaga, Jr.
2007 Jimmy Conrad (4)
Kevin Hartman
Eddie Johnson
2008 Jimmy Conrad (5)
2009 Jimmy Conrad (6)
Davy Arnaud
2010 Jimmy Nielsen
2011 Matt Besler
Omar Bravo
2012 Jimmy Nielsen (2)
Roger Espinoza
Aurelien Collin
Kei Kamara
Graham Zusi
2013 Matt Besler (2)
Aurelien Collin (2)
Graham Zusi (2)
2014 Matt Besler (3)
Aurelien Collin (3)
Graham Zusi (3)
Dom Dwyer
2015 Matt Besler (4)
Graham Zusi (4)
Benny Feilhaber
2016 Matt Besler (5)
2017 Graham Zusi (5)
2018 Graham Zusi (6)
2019 Graham Zusi (7)