USL Championship 2020 conference alignment - DL Image

Sporting Kansas City II returns to Eastern Conference for 2020 USL Championship season

Sporting Kansas City II will compete in the Eastern Conference of the USL Championship for the second consecutive season, the league announced today.

The USL Championship has unveiled conference alignment for the 2020 campaign, with 17 clubs assigned to the East and 18 clubs assigned to the West.

Sporting KC II's 2020 regular season schedule will feature at least one new opponent, as Ottawa Fury FC sold its franchise rights to USL Championship newcomers Miami FC. Former Eastern Conference club Nashville SC, meanwhile, has transitioned to Major League Soccer as an expansion club ahead of the 2020 season.

In the USL Championship's Western Conference, expansion side San Diego Loyal SC will replace Fresno FC, which ceased operations at the end of 2019.

Sporting KC II played each of their first three seasons in the Western Conference, winning conference titles in 2016 and 2017 en route to consecutive USL Cup appearances, before moving to the East ahead of the 2019 campaign.

Home openers for the 2020 USL Championship and the full 2020 regular season schedule, including Sporting KC II's 17-game home slate at Children’s Mercy Park, will be announced in the near future.