Sporting KC forward Krisztian Nemeth wins 2015 AT&T Goal of the Year

Sporting Kansas City forward Krisztian Nemeth has won the 2015 AT&T Goal of the Year award, Major League Soccer announced on Thursday.

Nemeth received the honor for his stunning solo run and finish in the 83rd minute of a 1-0 win at the Portland Timbers on Oct. 3 (Week 31). The strike was one of 64 AT&T Goal of the Year nominees when fan voting began at the end of October. Nemeth’s goal advanced through five rounds in a knockout-style tournament before topping Toronto FC’s Sebastian Giovinco in the final matchup.

“I want to thank all the fans that voted for me for MLS Goal of the Year,” Nemeth said. “It’s an honor to win this award and I am very appreciative of all the support they showed me this past year. I look forward to getting back to work and helping the team win more trophies.”

Three days after winning the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in Philadelphia on Sept. 30, Sporting Kansas City traveled to Providence Park in Portland for an MLS match with postseason implications. Nemeth entered as a second-half substitute and promptly scored the game-winner, beating multiple defenders on a 50-yard run and finishing low into the opposite corner of the net from a tight angle. The resulting victory proved pivotal in Sporting Kansas City securing a fifth straight berth in the MLS Cup Playoffs.

Fresh off his first season at Sporting Kansas City, Nemeth becomes the first MLS Goal of the Year winner in club history. His 23 combined goals (16) and assists (7) for the club in all competitions were the most by a Kansas City newcomer since 1996. The 26-year-old also shared Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Golden Boot honors with teammate Dom Dwyer, netting five goals en route to the championship.

On the international front, Nemeth earned eight caps for Hungary in 2015 and helped his country qualify for Euro 2016 — Hungary’s first appearance in the European Championship since 1972. Nemeth scored twice against Greece on Oct. 11 and played both matches in Hungary’s Euro 2016 playoff victory over Norway last month.

MLS Goal of the Year Winners
2015:       Krisztian Nemeth (Sporting Kansas City)
2014:       Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC)
2013:       Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
2012:       Patrick Ianni (Seattle Sounders FC)
2011:       Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers)
2010:       Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire)
2009:       Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)
2008:       Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake)
2007:       Cuauhtemoc Blanco (Chicago Fire)
2006:       Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)
2005:       Dwayne DeRosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
2004:       Dwayne DeRosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
2003:       Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
2002:       Carlos Ruiz (LA Galaxy)
2001:       Clint Mathis (MetroStars)
2000:       Marcelo Balboa (Colorado Rapids)
1999:       Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United)
1998:       Brian McBride (Columbus Crew)
1997:       Marco Etcheverry (D.C. United)
1996:       Eric Wynalda (San Jose Clash)