KC Cauldron Home of the Brave Tifo

Sporting Park to host 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship featuring U.S. Women's National Team

UPDATE: Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, Haiti and Martinque have qualified from the Caribbean to join Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico and the United States in the eight-team field for the competition.

Sporting Park will host the opening four matches in the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship on Oct. 15 and 16, U.S. Soccer announced on Thursday.

“This tournament provides fans with another opportunity to see some of the best women’s soccer players in the world compete on the international level,” said U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati.

“We look forward to an exciting World Cup qualifying round played in the United States at some of the best stadiums in the world in front of passionate football fans," said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb.

The tournament will feature eight countries from North America, Central America and the Caribbean region vying for berths in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup next summer. As host of the Women’s World Cup, Canada has secured its berth, so the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship will include the USA, Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala and four teams to be determined at the CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup from Aug. 19-26.

All eight countries, including the U.S. Women’s National Team, will kick off their qualifying campaigns in Kansas City, Kansas with their first of three group stage matches. Sporting Park will host international doubleheaders on back-to-back nights beginning with Group A on Oct. 15 and followed by Group B on Oct. 16.

The full tournament schedule, including opponents and kickoff times, will be set at the Final Draw on Sept. 5 in Miami. Ticket information will be made available in the near future.

All matches during the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship will be televised live across FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2 or FOX Soccer Plus, and will also be available on multi-platform devices via FOX Sports GO, FOX Soccer 2GO and FOXSportsGO.com.

Ranked No. 1 in the world, the U.S. Women’s National Team returns to the Kansas City area for the sixth time and will play a second international match at state-of-the-art Sporting Park. In 2011, the U.S. WNT played their first match following the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup at the home of Sporting Kansas City in a 1-1 draw against Canada.

With the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship coming in October, Kansas City, Kansas will have hosted the U.S. Men's and Women's National Teams on five occasions since Sporting Park opened in June 2011 -- more than any other city in the country over that time period. The $200+ million, award-winning venue is also the only stadium to host the U.S. Men's or Women's National Team in each of the last four years.

U.S. Women's National Team in Kansas City:

  • October 7, 1999 – U.S. Women’s National Team defeats Finland 6-0 at Arrowhead Stadium in Nike U.S. Women’s Cup 1999 doubleheader
  • August 20, 2000 – U.S. Women’s National Team draws Canada 1-1 at Arrowhead Stadium in Nike Road to Glory for 2000 Summer Olympics
  • October 22, 2003 – U.S. Women’s National Team draws Italy 2-2 at Arrowhead Stadium in international friendly
  • October 16, 2004 – U.S. Women’s National Team defeats Mexico 1-0 at Arrowhead Stadium in international friendly
  • September 17, 2011 – U.S. Women’s National Team draws Canada 1-1 at Sporting Park in international friendly
  • October 15/16, 2014 – U.S. Women’s National Team at Sporting Park in 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship

U.S. National Teams in Kansas City:

  • Nov. 2, 1968: U.S. MNT vs. Bermuda (6-2 W at Municipal Stadium)*
  • Oct. 7, 1999: U.S. WNT vs Finland (6-0 W at Arrowhead Stadium)
  • Aug. 20, 2000: U.S. WNT vs Canada (1-1 T at Arrowhead Stadium)
  • April 25, 2001: U.S. MNT vs Costa Rica (1-0 W at Arrowhead Stadium)*
  • Oct. 22, 2003: U.S. WNT vs Italy (2-2 T at Arrowhead Stadium)
  • Oct. 16, 2004: U.S. WNT vs Mexico (1-0 W at Arrowhead Stadium)
  • June 9, 2011: U.S. MNT vs. Guadeloupe (1-0 W at Sporting Park)
  • Sept. 17, 2011: U.S. WNT vs Canada (1-1 T at Sporting Park)
  • Oct. 16, 2012: U.S. MNT vs. Guatemala (3-1 W at Sporting Park)*
  • Oct. 11, 2013: U.S. MNT vs. Jamaica (2-0 W at Sporting Park)*
  • Oct. 15 or 16, 2014: U.S. WNT vs. TBD (at Sporting Park)*

*World Cup qualifier