Roger Espinoza - Sporting KC vs LA Galaxy - September 24, 2017
USA Today Sports Images

Sporting KC exercises options on 11 players ahead of 2018 MLS season

Sporting Kansas City announced Monday that the club has exercised contract options for the following 11 players ahead of the 2018 MLS season.

  • Saad Abdul-Salaam
  • Kharlton Belmar
  • Amer Didic
  • Andrew Dykstra
  • Roger Espinoza
  • Tim Melia
  • James Musa
  • Ike Opara
  • Daniel Salloi
  • Colton Storm
  • Adrian Zendejas

In addition, forward Cameron Porter and defender Erik Palmer-Brown are now out of contract with Sporting KC. Porter is eligible for the MLS Waiver Draft on Dec. 13. Sporting KC retains the rights to Palmer-Brown within MLS.

Sporting KC will not exercise contract options for forward Cameron Iwasa, midfielder Soni Mustivar, midfielder Kevin Oliveira and defender Tyler Pasher. Iwasa, Oliveira and Pasher are eligible for the MLS Waiver Draft. Mustivar is eligible for the MLS Re-Entry Draft, with Stage One set for Dec. 15 and Stage Two on Dec. 21.

Sporting KC now has 25 players under contract for the 2018 campaign: the 11 players whose options were exercised as well as players already under contract for 2018: Matt Besler, Latif Blessing, Gianluca Busio, Kevin Ellis, Benny Feilhaber, Gerso, Ilie, Jaylin Lindsey, Cristian Lobato, Jimmy Medranda, Diego Rubio, Soony Saad, Seth Sinovic and Graham Zusi.

For a full list of Sporting KC’s offseason roster moves, visit The club will spend both phases of the 2017 preseason in Arizona, first reporting to Scottsdale from Jan. 22 – Feb. 3 and then to Tucson for the Desert Diamond Cup from Feb. 9-24.

Major League Soccer released its 2017-18 offseason calendar earlier this month. The 2017 MLS Expansion Draft will take place at 1 p.m. CT on Dec. 12 as expansion club Los Angeles FC adds up to five players to its inaugural roster. The 2018 MLS SuperDraft will take place in mid-January in Philadelphia.

Sporting KC players under contract in 2018

Contract terms as of Nov. 27, 2017

Player Contract Ends Options
Andrew Dykstra 2018 none
Tim Melia 2018 none
Adrian Zendejas 2018 2019, 2020
Player Contract Ends Options
Saad Abdul-Salaam 2018 none
Matt Besler 2018 none
Amer Didic 2018 2019, 2020
Kevin Ellis 2018 none
Jaylin Lindsey 2021 2022
Ike Opara 2018 2019
Seth Sinovic 2018 none
Colton Storm 2018 2019, 2020
Graham Zusi 2018 none
Players Contract Ends Options
Roger Espinoza 2018 none
Benny Feilhaber 2018 none
Ilie 2018 2019
Cristian Lobato 2018 2019
Jimmy Medranda 2019 2020
James Musa 2018 2019, 2020
Player Contract Ends Options
Kharlton Belmar 2018 2019, 2020
Latif Blessing 2019 2020
Gianluca Busio 2020 2021, 2022
Gerso 2019 2020
Diego Rubio 2018 2019
Soony Saad 2018 2019
Daniel Salloi 2018 2019, 2020