Recap: Ilie and Zusi play second half as MLS All-Stars fall to Juventus on penalties

Sporting Kansas City midfielder Ilie Sanchez and defender Graham Zusi played 45 minutes each in the 2018 MLS All-Star Game on Wednesday night, helping the MLS All-Stars to a 1-1 stalemate before falling 5-3 on penalty kicks to Italian powerhouse Juventus.

Ilie and Zusi entered as halftime substitutes with the score tied 1-1 as a raucous crowd of 72,317 descended on Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta for the summer showcase that pitted Major League Soccer's best players against one of the best clubs in the world. Wednesday's attendance was the largest ever for a stand-alone MLS All-Star Game.

Juventus took a 21st-minute lead when Andrea Favilli nodded home off a cross from Matheus Pereira. The MLS All-Stars responded just five minutes later, however, as Josef Martinez planted a header off the woodwork and into the net from a tight angle following a frenetic scrum near the goalmouth.

With the teams still deadlocked after 90 minutes, the MLS All-Star Game would be decided by a penalty shootout for the second straight year. Zusi successfully converted his spot kick in the first round, but five straight successful attempts from Juventus and a fourth-round miss from New York Red Bulls striker Bradley Wright-Phillips condemned the MLS All-Stars to a 5-3 defeat.

Wednesday marked the 14th straight year a European club served as opposition to the MLS All-Stars, who now boast a 7-4-3 record in those fixtures. Zusi earned his sixth career All-Star appearance, while Ilie made his All-Star Game debut.

The Sporting KC duo will now rejoin their club ahead of Saturday's pivotal road test against rivals Houston Dynamo. Kickoff at BBVA Compass Stadium is set for 8 p.m. CT on FOX Sports Kansas City Plus, FOX Sports Midwest Plus, Sports Radio 810 WHB and ESPN Deportes KC 1480 AM.

MLS All-Stars in Sporting KC History

Year All-Stars Result
1996 Preki
Mo Johnston
Vitalis Takawira
West 2-3 East
1997 Preki (2)
Mo Johnston (2)
Vitalis Takawira (2)
Mark Chung
Richard Gough
West 4-5 East
1998 Preki (3)
Mo Johnston (3)
Uche Okafor
MLS USA 6-1 MLS World
1999 Preki (4)
Alexi Lalas
West 6-4 East
2000 Preki (5)
Chris Henderson
Matt McKeon
Tony Meola
Peter Vermes
West 4-9 East
2001 Matt McKeon West 6-6 East
2002 Preki (6)
Tony Meola (2)
Mike Burns
Chris Klein
MLS All-Stars 3-2 USA
2003 Preki (7)
Chris Klein (2)
MLS All-Stars 3-1 Guadalajara
2004 Chris Klein (3)
Jimmy Conrad
Josh Wolff
Kerry Zavagnin
West 2-3 East
2005 Chris Klein (4)
Jimmy Conrad (2)
MLS All-Stars 4-1 Fulham
2006 Jimmy Conrad (3)
Jose Burciaga, Jr.
MLS All-Stars 1-0 Chelsea
2007 Jimmy Conrad (4)
Kevin Hartman
Eddie Johnson
MLS All-Stars 2-0 Celtic
2008 Jimmy Conrad (5) MLS All-Stars 3-2 West Ham
2009 Jimmy Conrad (6)
Davy Arnaud
MLS All-Stars 1-1 (3-4) Everton
2010 Jimmy Nielsen MLS All-Stars 2-5 Manchester United
2011 Matt Besler
Omar Bravo
MLS All-Stars 0-4 Manchester United
2012 Jimmy Nielsen (2)
Roger Espinoza
Aurelien Collin
Kei Kamara
Graham Zusi
MLS All-Stars 3-2 Chelsea
2013 Matt Besler (2)
Aurelien Collin (2)
Graham Zusi (2)
MLS All-Stars 1-3 Roma
2014 Matt Besler (3)
Aurelien Collin (3)
Graham Zusi (3)
Dom Dwyer
MLS All-Stars 2-1 Bayern Munich
2015 Matt Besler (4)
Graham Zusi (4)
Benny Feilhaber
MLS All-Stars 2-1 Tottenham
2016 Matt Besler (5) MLS All-Stars 1-2 Arsenal
2017 Graham Zusi (5) MLS All-Stars 1-1 (2-4) Real Madrid
2018 Graham Zusi (6)
MLS All-Stars 1-1 (3-5) Juventus