Countdown to Kickoff | 11 Days: How to follow Sporting players on social media

For the first time in the 25-year history of Major League Soccer, the month of February will mark the start of regular season play. On Feb. 29, clubs across the United States and Canada will step between the white lines with hopes of collecting three points to begin 2020.

A delectable opening day of MLS action will see Sporting Kansas City visit Vancouver Whitecaps FC at 9:30 p.m. CT, giving supporters their first real look at Manager Peter Vermes’ side since last October.

As the anticipated date approaches, SportingKC.com is rolling out a 28-day countdown to first kick, offering a comprehensive preview of the season ahead. From key storylines and positional breakdowns to new fan initiatives and perks at Children’s Mercy Park, our Countdown to Kickoff series highlights the many reasons to be pumped for Sporting’s 2020 campaign. To visit the series homepage as it expands, head to SportingKC.com/countdown.


So you've familiarized yourself with just about everyone on Sporting Kansas City's 2020 roster. But do you follow them on social media?

Following Sporting's players on Twitter and Instagram is a great way to see them in their element, both on and off the field. It's also a perfect vehicle for showing players love on behalf of a passionate and supportive fan base and city. That's why we've provided the table below, linking to Twitter and Instagram handles for all members of the Sporting first team.

Before we dive in, a few suggestions. For news, videos, photos and instant updates throughout the 2020 season, follow Sporting on TwitterInstagram and Facebook. Other club-centric accounts to consider are @SKCMatchday on Twitter, providing detailed updates throughout every Sporting match, as well as world-class Children's Mercy Park on Twitter and Facebook.

As for the rest of the player pathway, Sporting Kansas City II is also on TwitterInstagram and Facebook. The same can be said for the Sporting Kansas City Academy (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook).

Sporting KC Players on Social Media

# Pos. Player Twitter Instagram
1 GK Richard Sanchez @richsanz45 @richsanz45
2 D Botond Barath n/a @boci36
3 D Andreu Fontas @AFontas3 @AFontas3
4 D Roberto Puncec n/a @puncec_roberto
5 D Matt Besler @MattBesler @MattBesler
6 M Ilie Sanchez n/a n/a
7 F Johnny Russell n/a @johnnyrussell7
8 D Graham Zusi @gzusi @gzusi
9 F Alan Pulido @alanpulido @alan_pulido17
10 M Felipe Gutierrez n/a @feligutierrezleiva
11 F Khiry Shelton @KhiryShelton @khiryshelton
12 F Gerso Fernandes @ge7fe @ge7fe
13 D Amadou Dia @Amadou_iT11 @amadou_it11
15 M Roger Espinoza n/a @luckylefty_27
16 D Graham Smith @grahamsmith161 @graham_._smith
17 M Gadi Kinda n/a @gadikindaa
18 GK Eric Dick @DaBrickWall00 @eric__dick
19 F Erik Hurtado n/a @etado19
20 F Daniel Salloi @danielsalloi @danielsalloi
21 M Felipe Hernandez n/a @fe1ip3
23 F Tyler Freeman @tylerfreeman23 @ty1erfreeman
26 D Jaylin Lindsey @JaylinLindsey @jaylinlindsey
27 M Gianluca Busio @gbusio13 @_gianlucabusio
28 M Cameron Duke @camduke20 @_camduke
29 GK Tim Melia @TimMelia28 n/a
36 D Luis Martins n/a @lui3martin6
75 M Wan Kuzain @LeKuz7 @kuzain7
TBD D Winston Reid @WinstonReid2 @winston.reid2
Series: 
Topics: