2020 MLS Cup: Columbus Crew SC to host defending champ Seattle Sounders FC on Saturday

Columbus Crew SC vs. Seattle Sounders FC
Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs | MLS Cup
Saturday, Dec. 12, 2020 | 7 p.m. CT
MAPFRE Stadium | Columbus, Ohio
FOX | UniMás | TUDN | FOX Sports app

Broadcast Schedule:
English TV
 | FOX
Spanish TV | FOX Deportes
Streaming | FOX Sports App
English Radio | ESPN 94.5 FM
Spanish Radio | La Grande 1340 AM

Major League Soccer's long and winding 2020 season will conclude Saturday night when Columbus Crew SC hosts reigning champion Seattle Sounders FC in the 2020 MLS Cup at MAPFRE Stadium. Crew SC are seeking their second MLS Cup victory, having hoisted the trophy in 2008, while the Sounders are making their fourth MLS Cup appearance in five years and have their sights set on a second consecutive league title.

Columbus rattled off three home wins en route to MLS Cup, defeating the New York Red Bulls, Nashville SC and New England Revolution as the No. 3 seed in the Eastern Conference. Head coach Caleb Porter's men boast an excellent 12-1-0 record at MAPFRE Stadium this season.

Seattle also enjoyed home cooking at Lumen Field, where they have won an MLS-record 15 straight playoff matches. Head coach Brian Schmetzer's side, which claimed MLS Cup glory in 2016 and 2019, eliminated LAFC, FC Dallas and Minnesota United FC as the No. 2 seed in the Western Conference. Led by the lethal attacking trio of Raul Ruidiaz, Jordan Morris and Nicolas Lodeiro, the Sounders have built a dynasty in recent years and would undoubtedly punctuate that sentiment by prevailing on Saturday night.

This will mark the third MLS Cup at MAPFRE Stadium, with the San Jose Earthquakes defeating the LA Galaxy in 2001 and the Portland Timbers, then coached by Porter, ousting host Columbus by a 2-1 scoreline in 2015.

The Crew defeated the New York Red Bulls in 2008 to win their lone MLS Cup, while the Sounders are seeking their third title in five years and could join D.C. United, the Houston Dynamo and the LA Galaxy as the only teams to win consecutive crowns.