MLS announces ballot for annual awards featuring 13 Sporting KC nominees


Major League Soccer has announced the nominees for the 2022 End of Year Awards with voting set to begin today and last through Oct. 10.

MLS Year-End Awards will be determined through voting from three groups:

  • Current MLS players
  • MLS clubs (coaches, technical directors/general managers)
  • Select media members representing local and national outlets who consistently covered the 2022 MLS regular season

Additionally, fans will have the opportunity to weigh in on the top plays of the season with both the AT&T Goal of the Year and MLS Save of the Year presented by Allstate by casting their votes on MLSsoccer.com from Oct. 12-14.

CLICK HERE for the list of nominees for each award, including the following Sporting Kansas City representatives:

Sporting KC Nominees: 2022 MLS End of Year Awards

  • Landon Donovan MLS MVP: Daniel Salloi and Johnny Russell
  • Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year: Tim Melia
  • MLS Defender of the Year: Andreu Fontas and Nicolas Isimat-Mirin
  • MLS Newcomer of the Year: Willy Agada and Erik Thommy
  • Young Player of the Year: Cam Duke and John Pulskamp
  • MLS Comeback Player of the Year: Felipe Hernandez and Ben Sweat
  • MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year: Khiry Shelton
  • Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year: Peter Vermes