Sporting KC striker Alan Pulido voted MLS Player of the Month

23-June-Player-of-the-Month-DL (1)

Sporting Kansas City forward Alan Pulido was voted MLS Player of the Month for June, Major League Soccer announced on Friday.

The 32-year-old Mexican striker scored a club record and MLS-best six goals this month in addition to contributing a game-winning assist.

“I am very happy and I am very proud," Pulido said. "Thank you to my team. This only happens because of all of the players. And also for the fans, thank you for the support. It is very important for me.”

Pulido scored in four straight regular season matches from June 3 to June 21, becoming the seventh player in club history to do so and the first since Johnny Russell in 2021. Seven of Sporting Kansas City’s eight goals in June were either scored or assisted by Pulido.

Most Regular Season Goals in Month by SKC Player
Alan Pulido, six goals in June 2023
Johnny Russell, six goals in October 2021
Dom Dwyer, six goals in May 2014

An MLS Newcomer of the Year finalist in 2020, Pulido has scored 21 goals and recorded 11 assists in 49 career MLS regular season matches. Among players with 20 goals for Sporting Kansas City all-time, Pulido's 0.52 goals per 90 minutes is the best strike rate in club history.

The World Cup veteran missed all of the 2022 season due to knee surgery and returned to the field in April after missing 45 consecutive regular season matches. Pulido leads Sporting KC this season with 11 goal contributions (eight goals, three assists) across all competitions.

Pulido becomes the first Sporting Kansas City player to win MLS Player of the Month since Felipe Gutierrez won the award in March 2018. MLS Player of the Month is voted upon by a panel of select national media members in a process conducted by MLS Communications.

Sporting KC All-Time MLS Players of the Month
April 2000: Miklos Molnar
May 2000: Tony Meola
May 2003: Preki
June 2004: Chris Klein
August 2005: Scott Sealy
June 2006: Jose Burciaga, Jr.
April 2007: Eddie Johnson
June 2011: Graham Zusi
May 2014: Dom Dwyer
June 2014: Eric Kronberg
July 2014: Benny Feilhaber
April 2015: Benny Feilhaber
May 2015: Krisztian Nemeth
March 2018: Felipe Gutierrez
June 2023: Alan Pulido