The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T

MLS to celebrate historic stars with The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T

In continued celebration of its 25th season, Major League Soccer today announced The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T, a platform that will determine and honor the 25 brightest stars in league history. A special panel of more than 200 MLS experts from across North America will select the 25 players who achieved the most on the field, drove the narrative off the field, and lay the foundation for MLS’s next 25 years.

The voting panel is comprised of four groups: MLS Greats & Emeritus (former players, coaches, staff), current MLS Club staff, Media Members and Broadcast Partners (local and national). MLS invited panelists based on years of experience within MLS, geographic balance, and game expertise.

MLS has nominated 134 of the most decorated and impactful players in League history. The League prioritized players who accomplished one or more of the following as an MLS player:

  • Received multiple League-wide individual honors such as:
  • Best XI, MVP, Golden Boot, Defender/GK of the Year, All-Star Selections
  • Won major team trophies such as:
  • MLS Cup, Supporters Shield, U.S. Open Cup, international club competitions
  • Made extraordinary off-field contributions or impact
  • Rank among the all-time leaders in key statistical areas

The full list of nominees can be viewed HERE on

MLS today also announced that it will honor the top goal from the League’s first 25 seasons with The Greatest Goal presented by AT&T. An initial list of 25 top goals will be determined by MLS. Fans will then rank their choices among these standout plays on to determine The Greatest Goal.

The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T will be revealed on Dec. 9, three days prior to the 2020 MLS Cup. Given that their achievements vary by type, position, era and circumstance, The 25 Greatest will not be ranked. They are all equally worthy of this prestigious honor. 

The Greatest Goal presented by AT&T voting will launch following MLS Cup from Dec. 14-17, with the winner recognized on Dec. 18.

The 25 Greatest presented by AT&T
Sporting KC Nominees (past and present players)

  • GK Kevin Hartman
  • GK Tony Meola
  • D Matt Besler
  • D Aurelien Collin
  • D Jimmy Conrad
  • D Alexi Lalas
  • D Ike Opara
  • D Peter Vermes
  • M Mark Chung
  • M Brad Davis
  • M Chris Klein
  • M Preki
  • M Kerry Zavagnin
  • M Graham Zusi
  • F Dom Dwyer
  • F Kei Kamara
  • F Roy Lassiter
  • F Josh Wolff